It's all about choices: the Matrix is real. We Are Spiritual Beings having a Human Experience.

It's all about choices: the Matrix is real. We Are Spiritual Beings having a Human Experience.

About Me

My photo
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, NY/NJ, Tennessee, Washington...the U.S., and Southeast Asia & China, United States
With a B.A. in psychology and a masters in education, I'm a psychological counselor-advisor, college professor-academic adviser, writer, music journalist: a Cosmic Tuning Fork; LightWorker; Intuitive Mentor. I Activate People in understanding their Life Goals, individual Soul Lessons, and Inner Truths to achieve personal growth & happiness, and have fun too.

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Chakras: the energy centers of the body and their meaning

(Thanks and credits to

 The Chakras

Chakras are centers of distribution of energy throughout the body. There are seven major centers which govern a multitude of lesser centers throughout the body. Five of the major centers are located along the spine and two in the head. The chakras are not within the dense physical body. They exist in the etheric matter and in the aura, outside the physical body.
Painting by Barry Stevens
Painting by Barry Stevens
Each of the major chakras is associated with a gland and major nerve plexus and governs the area of the physical body in which it is found. By influencing the endocrine system and its hormones, the chakras affect the functioning and structure of the tissues of the body, including the organs. The chakras are also associated with various aspects of our experience on the emotional, mental and spiritual levels.

Structure of the Chakras:
“Chakra” is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheels of light.” This is descriptive of the appearance of the chakras which are like vortexes of energy which spin. Each chakra is structured uniquely to receive and transmit the particular qualities of energy which are necessary for the area of functioning governed by the chakra.
The seven major chakras are the “root” or “base” chakra, sacral chakra, solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra, brow chakra and crown chakra. The three lower chakras are often described as being related to our functioning as a human being on the “earth plane”. They are controlled by the energies of the planetary physical plane. The chakras above the diaphragm are controlled by the energies of what is called the “cosmic plane.”

The upper three chakras, in particular, are involved with the processing of “spiritual” energies. The heart, lying in the middle, is thought to be the connector or transformer which bridges “above and below” or “heaven and earth.”  As we progress spiritually, the upper chakras are awakened, producing the expansion and development of the spiritual layers of the aura. The energies of upper and lower chakras are also brought into relationship, transforming each other. The whole chakra system and aura are actually in a state of evolution.

Colors of the Chakras:
The chakras are commonly described as having the colors of the rainbow, beginning with red at the root and ending with indigo at the 6th (ajna or brow) chakra. The crown chakra is usually thought to be mostly white light, although some describe it as a light violet hue. There are other systems which describe the chakras as having different colors. The rainbow colors are actually the colors of the chakras at the 2nd, or emotional layer, of the energy field. Since those colors are the brightest, it may be that they dominate in the overall color perceived in a chakra. Also, at this point in time in human evolution, the emotional energy body is very active and this also may account for the popularity of this particular color scheme.

The appearance and structure of the chakras from person to person will vary considerably, depending on:
  • The particular energies which constitute that person’s makeup — there are variations in the basic energetic “constitution” of individuals (ray energies)
  • The point in “evolution” of the person’s chakra system. Chakras can be in various states of “awakening.”
  • The overall health of the energy field. Energy field disturbances can be seen as distortions of the chakras.
  • The current life issues and transitions occurring at a particular time — the chakras can be in a considerable state of flux.

No comments: